Our Church Officers


The governing body of First Presbyterian Church consists of ordained Ruling Elders serving as the Session, which is arranged in three classes. The Pastor serves as Moderator, or chair, of the Session.

Ruling Elders are elected annually by the members of the congregation for three year terms and are responsible for mission; providing for worship, including music; the growth of the members, including education and church school; to challenge the congregation with responsible Christian stewardship of money and time and talents; annual budget; to receive new members into the church; maintain the membership rolls and records; to provide for the administration of the program of the church and the property of the church; and to maintain regular and continuing relationship to the Presbytery, the Synod and the General Assembly.

Stated meetings of Session are held on the third Thursday of each month. Special meetings are held to receive new members and to hear from and receive the Confirmation Class.

The Pastor and designated elders of First Church also serve as commissioners to the Presbytery of Wabash Valley (a group of 80 Presbyterian churches in Northern and Central Indiana).


      Class of 2020      Cathie Cripe Pepple     David Pepple                    Cathy Wray

      Class of 2021       Mike Kastro                  Virgil Snyder                     Karen Wellington

      Class of 2022       Bob Hoke                     Martha Kazmierczak       Marie Palacios  


The Board of Deacons

The word "Deacon" comes from the Greek verb meaning "to serve"; accordingly, the Board of Deacons is concerned with serving the congregation and the community. The Deacons are members who have been elected and ordained to service in the church. They are led by a moderator who is elected from among their members.


The Deacons are primarily responsible for ministering to those in need within our congregation. Other duties of the Deacons include delivery of chancel flowers, the service of communion during service and to shut-ins, calling on the sick, hospital visits, providing food in emergencies, etc. They also serve on the committees and ministry teams of the congregation.


     Class of 2020       Jenny Jenkins      Jenny Paetsch         Gretchen Wise

     Class of 2021     Bruni Claudio        Mary Lou Hetler

     Class of 2022     Kirby Eysol             Betsy Kastro            Jean Wallace


The Board of Trustees

The trustees serve as the representatives of the church in legal matters.  They sign documents in financial matters.  They are all active members of the Session.  

      Class of 2020    Cathie Cripe Pepple

      Class of 2021     Mike Kastro    

      Class of 2022     Bob Hoke